The Play's the Thing '13

A2CT presents a weekend of new works June 28-29, 2013, at the A2CT Studio Theater, 322 W. Ann St. Ann Arbor, 48104, near downtown Ann Arbor. Performances are June 28 at 8pm and June 29 at 2pm and 8pm. All performances are free. Map is available here. Questions? Call the office at 734-971-2228.

The Play’s the Thing is a unique collaboration between playwrights and audience members. Playwrights hear their works read and the audience gives feedback to facilitate new play development. Each performance features plays of varying lengths. Previous productions have played to full houses and have showcased the works of playwrights from as far away as Oregon. Each performance is directed by a different director, and every playwright is on hand to join in the post-show discussion with the audience, actors, and directors. The producer for The Play's the Thing '13 is Emilio Rodriguez.

Friday, June 28 at 8pm: Stuck, by Brian Cox , Friendly Fire, by Catherine Zudak , All Right, by Jack Tiernan , Image of Love by Patrice Carter , By Any Other Name, by Richard Lienaweaver; directed by Lillian Bishop

Saturday, June 29 at 2pm: Double Entendre by Joe York, Jobbed by Kathy Holland; directed by Angie Lai

Saturday, June 29 at 8pm: Lemonade Lagoon, by K. Biadaszkiewicz; directed by Lori Reece

“We had submissions from all over the country,” says A2CT’s The Play’s the Thing, producer, Emilio Rodriguez. “We have one playwright traveling from Oregon to participate in the festival, but many of this year’s plays are from local playwrights who have been contributing their talents to the community for years. The featured plays are a great mix of styles and genres, and it’s exciting for the audience to have the opportunity to be part of the process!”

Playing multiple roles in the festival’s eight plays are Jon Elliott, Allie Reynolds,Marley Beaver, Cydney Heed, H Roger King, Barbara Mackey King, Peggy Ruderg, Halla Motawi, Alen Fyfe, John Klopp, Marc Holland, Kirk Nicholson, Christopher Potter, Katy Schoetzow, Miles Bond, Ryan Ernst, and Chris Chase.